6 Posts
2 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@just-jag_1611053569)
Trusted Member

Hi,

I am in my 3rd year of Shiatsu study.

A guy I regularly treat has Parkinson's disease (horrid word isn't it?) and I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions for me in terms of using Shiatsu diagnosis/treatment for this condition? Obviously I appreciate his energetic makeup is unique but I thought some of the experienced shaitsu practitioners out there might have some advice for me in helping me.

Thanks for your help!

Jag

5 Replies
Reiki Pixie
(@reiki-pixie)
Noble Member

Hi Jag

How's life?

My Qigong tutor (who is also an acupuncturist & tuina therapist) used to say that Parkinson's is too much energy in the head and would drain it through the Stomach meridian. I think it was either St42 or 43 on the foot he uses.

Classically it's usually a Liver-Wind issue arising from patterns like Liver Yang Rising, Liver Blood or Liver Yin Deficiency, Liver Fire, Heat. Hence tremors, tics, dizziness from internal Wind. So typical points to work on would be GB20, Liv3, Sp6, LI4, Du20, SJ(TB)5. Obviously a more comprehensive diagnosis would show other points to be used.

Best Wishes

RP

Topic starter
(@just-jag_1611053569)
Trusted Member

Thanks Dave!!
The guy in question does live with a lot of his life force residing in his head, preferring analysis and thought to feeling and bodily intuition, so I do find many of the lower body points useful to bring his energy downwards. He is also very rigid and unable to receive much pressure, so often my work is more energetic.

Life is good. So many things going on! So many interests! How to allocate my time to them all! Getting more into the purely healing and energetic side of things.

You finished your acupuncture? You seem to be building up a nice little portfolio...

Blessings,

J

Reiki Pixie
(@reiki-pixie)
Noble Member

Hi Jag