Notifications
Clear all

A quick hello and a question.....

10 Posts
4 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@spiritus)

Just wanted to say hello to all. I have just joined the forum as a newbie. I am currently studying with a plan to becoming a life coach in the near future. I am definitely middle aged, and this represents a significant change in life and career.

Anyway, I shall be about these parts over the coming weeks and months, lurking in the background at least!

However, I would like to pose a question, if I might.

What qualities does the panel think one requires to be a proficient and successful coach? Discuss!

Cheers

Phil

9 Replies
Tashanie
(@tashanie)
Noble Member

Just wanted to say hello to all. I have just joined the forum as a newbie. I am currently studying with a plan to becoming a life coach in the near future. I am definitely middle aged, and this represents a significant change in life and career.

Anyway, I shall be about these parts over the coming weeks and months, lurking in the background at least!

However, I would like to pose a question, if I might.

What qualities does the panel think one requires to be a proficient and successful coach? Discuss!

Cheers

Phil

Hi Phil - I trained in hypnotherapy and life coaching at the age of 58!. I spent 34 years as a pharmacist and now do hypnotherapy, reiki, indian head massage and psychic readings. I totally understand where you are coming from!!!

I think you need empathy to build good rapport, a non judgmental approach , patience - since sometimes it can take them time to break out of any circular thought patterns that are keeping them where they are., You need good listening skills and sometimes good intuition.

Hope that helps

Topic starter
(@spiritus)

Nice reply, thank you. I agree with your list of qualities.

I would add a massive sense of reality and being down to earth.:D