Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@bluefloppy65)
Honorable Member

Hi Guys,

Looking for a bit of advice - my daughter has just been diagnosed as having CFS. We saw a very helpful nurse yesterday - but I am looking for alternative therapies that could help.

She has been ill since December and we only managed to get the surgery to refer her last month!

Anyways - I am a massage therapist, as well as practice reiki, reflexology and other massage therapies
I saw a thread about the spine and the thorasic muscles being tender - not really sure massage is appropriate

Any ideas with regards to diet?

Any help would be gratefully received

8 Replies
CarolineN
(@carolinen)
Famed Member

Hi Bluefloppy

So sorry to hear your daughter has CFS - so restricting and debilitating (don't I know it!!!) There is a lot that can be done to help. Food intolerances often play a part, imbalanced gut bacteria, viral infections (see boosting the immune system, - about antiviral function). A nutritional therapist will help to support her and unpeel the layers that have built up to cause the problem.

There is also much that has been posted on HP in the past on CFS and if you read the info I posted on and want to know more then please ask. I received no help whatsoever from the NHS, apart from diagnosis. Unfortunately it's a question of searching oneself. There are various dedicated websites with lots of info on them if you Google it.

Wishing her improved health.

(@louisa_1611053138)
Noble Member

Hello there,
I am sorry to hear of your daughters CF.

so restricting and debilitating (don't I know it!!!)

Me too, what I do today, I pay for the days that follow.

I follow a very healthy diet and have learnt to accept that 'it's the way it is' - I know this is no real help for your daughter but often I find pacing myself helps.

Best wishes.

Indo
(@indo)
Reputable Member

Hi Guys,