Swedish Massage with preblended oils

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter
(@agme28)
Eminent Member

Hello

I am VTCT qualified in Swedish Massage but cannot afford to the do aromatherapy as I would like. My question is, can I use preblended oils on clients such as the ones sold at the college where I studied? My tutor seemed to suggest that it would be fine, but wouldn't I still need to know whether a particular preblend was suitable for any given client? Is it a case of them simply signing something to say they are OK with the preblend to be used? I know a fair bit about essential oils just from my own study and from attending a nightschool course in it, but I am not an aromatherapist.

When I went to Spain last year, I had a massage in a spa hotel and I didn't have to fill any forms in and no medical history was taken. I found this bizarre but refreshing as I know I have no contraindications personally. But I want to make sure I am covered when I start practising professionally and that my clients are in safe hands.

Many thanks
Abi

8 Replies
(@sportstherapy)
Noble Member

Hi Abi,
some of the pre-blended oils contain essential oils in high concentration, and many have a lot more contraindications than massage alone. IMO you should be limiting your own personal liability as much as possible. It's your choice whether you use them or not, however should anything go wrong, it would be you that is held liable.

If you really want to use them then research the very safest oils and use those in the weakest diluted blends as you can find.

I'm also really glad that in this country therapists are trained to take full consultations before embarking on any treatments.

Isis-Training
(@isis-training)
Estimable Member