Do you have difficu...

Notifications
Clear all

Do you have difficulty operating petrol pumps?

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter
(@sammy2191)

Hey everyone,

I am a Product Design student currently in my final year of study. It involves seeking out a problem and finding an innovative solution to that problem. A problem that has taken my interest is the concern that many people who suffer with arthritis find it difficult to refuel their cars, both unscrewing the petrol cap and squeezing the handle for a prolonged period of time. I’m trying to gather some information from people who may have experienced the problem first hand.

I’m interested in any information that you may be able to give me that may help.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

4 Replies
CarolineN
(@carolinen)
Famed Member

Hi there Sammy - welcome to Healthypages 🙂 Interesting question.

Yes I have problems, especially squeezing the handle on the nozzle for long enough to fill the tank. I have CFS and fibromyalgia and seem to have lost a lot of muscle strength, especially keeping a group of muscles contracted for a prolonged period. I have to keep changing hands. The petrol cap is OK if I don't tighten it enough.

I give up on wheel nuts if I have a puncture though - I just stand and look helpless in that situation 😮 - used to be able to do that easily :rolleyes:.

Topic starter
(@sammy2191)

Hey Caroline – thankyou! 🙂

Thanks for getting back to me. Yeah, I have been researching around the problem for a while now and it seems as though you’re not alone. Lots of people have the same problem; I’m just surprised nothing has been done about it before now.