sciatica? , lower b...

Notifications
Clear all

sciatica? , lower back pain ?

tankertrev
Topic starter
(@tankertrev)

hiya people , not sure really what thread to put this in , am just seeking a little advice here, , im a massage therapist , and not long qualified, ( may 2013 ), slowly building my business up here, and there ., recently, I seem to be getting more and more male clients at my home, with sciatica/ lower back pain as they put it , now, this is where my inexperience comes in I guess, I don't want to turn these clients away when they ask if I can help them, I don't want to send them to a physio etc...., but at the same time I don't want to make their condition worse .
I have been looking at charts etc as to where the sciatic nerve flows from, what advice can you give me please, , gentle effleurage techniques on the lower back, same , either side of the sciatic nerve ?, pressurepoints ?,
As I say , if I start turning clients down, then I feel like im not going forward if you know what I mean .
all advice I would be well and truly grateful for , and thank in advance ,

trev

6 Replies
Jinx
 Jinx
(@jinx)
Reputable Member

Hi Trev

Someone with more recent experience might be along soon (I trained mid 90s and retired from massage 2 years ago) but I had several clients with sciatica. The sciatic nerve runs deep through the backside and you'll often find sciatica sufferers have incredibly tight glutes so releasing those muscles can help lots.

You need to work pretty deep. After warming up the area I would gradually increase pressure with forearms and even elbows until I was working really deeply and could get the muscles moving. If you do it gradually it isn't painful for the clients and they should feel the tension ebbing away but do ask for feedback in case they are uncomfortable.

Longer term I recommended stretches and yoga to stop the tension building up.