Notifications
Clear all

Can I Charge while training?

squidges
Topic starter
(@squidges)
Eminent Member

Hi Everyone,

Have been reading the boards for the last few weeks and found them so so helpful.

I am currently doing the ITEC holistic massage course and was thinking I would hire the local village hall for a few evenings over the next couple of months. It has a small meeting room which would be ideal to do massage from and I thought I might advertise for clients in the local villages to get as much practice as possible and try and build up a base of potential clients for when I am qualified.

I was wondering if I am I allowed to charge for treatments while I am still a student to cover the costs of hiring the hall etc?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Jo

15 Replies
Kevin Bryden
(@kevin-bryden)
Estimable Member

I would be inclined to only treat family and friends. You hold yourself up to problems otherwise.

I'm sure you are not allowed to charge until you are qualified, your insurance may not allow it either.

Muddi
(@muddi)
Estimable Member

You wouldn't be covered by insurance - at the moment you are covered by college insurance BUT only to treat on college premises under supervision etc..

If somebody were to have a reaction (whether this was down to you or not) they could very easily sue you - not a good thing!

I dont think you can actually charge anyway till your qualified - If you treat friends and family you can ask for 'donations' πŸ˜‰ But to actually hire somewhere and charge is asking for trouble im afraid..

But you should deffo keep the place in mind for when you do qualify, as it could be a great starting block for you! x

Lynora
(@jabba-the-hut)
Famed Member